Hotline: +43 1 47654 81200 Email:
Are There Any Travel Regulations?

About Travel Regulations

Visas for Austria are not required by all nationals referred to in the chart for the following lengths of visit:

  • Nationals of EU countries for an unlimited period, provided passport is valid;
  • Nationals of Australia, Canada and USA for the purposes of business or tourism for stays of up to 90 days. For stays longer than three months an entry permit must be applied for which is valid for up to six months;
  • Holders of the following British passports do need a visa: British subject (without right of abode in the UK); British Dependent Territories; British Overseas Citizens; British Protected Persons.

Citizens from some non-EU countries are required to hold a visa when travelling to the Schengen Area. The EU has a common list of countries whose citizens must have a visa when crossing the external borders and a list of countries whose citizens are exempt from that requirement. These lists are set out in Regulation No 539/2001 and its successive amendments. Generally, a short-stay visa issued by one of the Schengen States entitles its holder to travel throughout the 26 Schengen States for up to three months within a six-month period. Visas for visits exceeding that period remain subject to national procedures.



This map is for reference purposes only. The rules in force regarding visa requirements are set out in Regulation No 539/2001.

For participants that require an invitation for visa application, please make sure your request is announced well ahead of time. Please, in this case, directly contact the conference office by e-mail well ahead of your planned travel date (minimum 3 months)

© 2015 BOKU/IHG - Thomas Friedrich, Martin Seebacher.  © ISS8 logo by Astrid Schmidt-Kloiber 

© All rights reserved | Contact | Imprint